only search TALE Website


"The students we teach are larger than life and even more complex. To see them clearly and see them whole, and respond to them wisely in the moment, requires a fusion of Freud and Solomon that few of us achieve."

Parker Palmer, The Courage to Teach

Outstanding Teaching Awards

December, May, and August graduating seniors and graduate students, who have earned 15 credits, are invited by campus email to submit online a nomination for outstanding teaching. Each student is limited to one nomination.  The nomination form requires students compose a narrative indicating why the professor is deserving of the award.  All nominations are kept confidential.  The nominations from the December graduates are saved and combined with the nominations from the May and August graduates.  All of the nominations are blind-reviewed by a committee of four faculty members.  The selected professors will learn of the award selection by the end of April and receive a plaque and professional development money, funded by the BU Foundation at the May commencement ceremonies.

Click here to access the Outstanding Teaching Award Nomination Site.

2015 Outstanding Teaching Award Recipients

Shiloh Erdley, Sociology, Social Work, and Criminal Justice, undergraduate Teaching Award

Darren Kass, Management, Graduate Teaching Award

Mary Katherine Waibel Duncan, Psychology, undergraduate Teaching Award

Previous Outstanding Teaching Recipients

Peter Bohling Economics 2000
Chuck Laudermilch Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice 2000
Robert Gates Education Studies & Secondary Education 2001
Andrea Pearson Art & Art History 2001
John Grandzol Management 2002
Michael Shapeero Accounting 2003
Yvette Samson Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice 2003
Darrin Kass Management 2004
Kevin Ferland Math, Computer Science, & Statistics 2004
Laura Davis Finance and Legal Studies 2005
Stephen Whitworth English 2005
Steven Hales Philosophy 2006
William Hudon History 2006
Frank D'Angelo Early Childhood & Elementary Education 2007
Janet Bodenman Communication Studies 2007
Margie Eckroth-Bucher Nursing 2008
Jennifer Stotter Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice 2008
Barbara Wilson Exceptionality Programs 2009
Michael Karpinski Exceptionality Programs 2009
Peter Bohling Economics 2010
Cynthia Surmacz Biological & Allied Health Sciences 2010
Christian Grandzol Management 2011
Pamela Smith Audiology and Speech Pathology 2011
Thomas Starmack Educational Studies and Secondary Education 2012
Nathaniel Greene Physics and Engineering 2012
Denise Davidson Counseling and College Student Affairs, Graduate Teaching Award 2013
John Grandzol Management, Undergraduate Teaching Award 2013
Jennifer Johnson Psychology, Undergraduate Teaching Award 2013
Jodie Ackerman Instructor of Interpreting, Exceptionalities, Undergraduate Teaching Award 2014
Babak Mohassel Sociology, Social Work, and Criminal Justice, Undergraduate Teaching Award 2014
Denise Klinger Denise Klinger, School Counseling and Student Affairs, Graduate Teaching Award 2014
Shiloh Erdley Social Work, Undergraduate Teaching Award 2015
Mary Katherine Waibel Duncan Psychology, Undergraduate Teaching Award 2015
Darren Kass Management 2015
Back to Top